Leahlani Skincare (Hawaiian Magic)

Hi there everyone !!!

Thought I would share my reviews on Leahlani Skincare made famous on social media for their Mermaid Mask and we all know that mermaids and unicorns are the backbone of Social Media lol.

I’m not fascinated by either and didn’t jump on the mermaid wagon until quite recently , I have been very curious about the Champagne Serum since Caroline Hirons mentioned it in her Fave Fives in July of 2016 and she has also included it in her Box of Dreams collaboration with Cult Beauty.

This serum was kindly gifted to me by a friend. I will do a summary after the reviews so without further ado ……

IMG_6375
Leahlani Skincare – Honey Love

PRODUCT Honey Love 3-in-1(cleanser/exfoliator,mask)

PRICE $71.50 AUD for 118ml

SKIN TYPE All skin types (esp Oily/Combo/Acne Prone)

RECOMMENDED USE After cleansing apply to a moist face in circular motions for a couple of minutes, leave on up to 5 minutes as a mask. Remove with warm water.

A.M OR P.M Either.

HOW IT SMELLS To me it smells like a delicious berry desert.

HOW IT FEELS Like Jam or to my U.S readers Jelly

HOW MUCH DO I USE I like to scoop up a dollop the size of a grape.

HOW OFTEN DO I USE Twice a week is perfect for me.

HOW DO I USE I like to use in the morning as I find it such a lovely product that it starts my day off just right. I rinse my face with cool water then stir the jar so the crystals are evenly dispersed. I then scoop up a dollop and massage into my face using circular motions avoiding the eye area. I like to gently massage for around 3-5 minutes before splashing off in warm water. I then finish with a washcloth moistened with cool water and gently pat my face.

MY THOUGHTS I really didn’t know what to make of this , it has a very thick texture and I found it very hard to stir !!!! Once I managed to do that and used I wasn’t sure of the smell and a little concerned about the crystals as I was slightly fearful they would scratch my skin. The consistency was very easy to spread on a moistened face and the exfoliating aspect felt thorough not harsh. I found it also rinsed off a lot easier than the original texture would lead you to believe. To test if the crystals were causing micro tears in the skin I used my P50w acid exfoliator straight afterwards and there was no stinging. So I felt confident to continue using, It also became easier to stir the product the more I used .

FACTS The material used for physical exfoliation in this product is Corundum Cystals. Corundum is a rock-forming mineral that is found in igneous , metamorphic and sedimentary rocks. It is an aluminium oxide with a chemical composition of Al2O3 and a hexagonal crystal structure.
The mineral is widely known for its extreme hardness and for the fact that it is sometimes found as beautiful transparent crystals in many different colours. The extreme hardness makes corundum an excellent abrasive.

REPURCHASE Yes I’ve really come to enjoy this and I think the price point is perfect for this range , I would consider this to be in the middle of the market, price wise. I believe you could easily have 3 – 4 months of use with this product.

INGREDIENTS Organic Hawaiian Raw Honey, organic wildcrafted whole Maqui Berry Fruit (Aristotelia chilensis), organic wildcrafted whole Noni Fruit (Morinda citrifolia), Rose Clay, organic Hibiscus Flower (rosa sinensis), organic Lavender Flower (Lavandula Angustifolia), organic cold pressed Jojoba Oil, Essential oils of: (organic Lavender (Lavandula Angustifolia), Chamomile (Chamomilla Recutita) , organic Orange ) Citrus sinensis); organic Vegetable Glycerin, Corundum Crystals and LOVE (Aloha).

IMG_6376
Leahlani Skincare _ Mermaid Mask

PRODUCT Mermaid Mask

PRICE $47.50 AUD for 50ml

SKIN TYPE All Skin Types

RECOMMENDED USE Stir contents before use then apply a small amount to damp skin, Leave on for 5-15 minutes before removing with warm water then finish with a cool splash.

A.M OR P.M Either

HOW IT SMELLS Like beautiful honey, flowers and the ocean

HOW IT FEELS Very thick texture again which turns into an easily spread yet still sticky honeyed goo.

HOW MUCH DO I USE A small dollop like the size of an olive.

HOW OFTEN DO I USE Once or twice a week depending on mood and skin .

HOW DO I USE I like to cleanse and exfoliate first , then dampen skin with a lovely mist . I then scoop up a dollop and apply to my nose I then start massaging outwards until my face is evenly coated. I massage off in warm water then use a cool damp wash cloth to wipe my face afterwards.

FACTS This is filled with incredible ingredients including ones that most of us take for internal supplements.

MY THOUGHTS This is another texture I found difficult to start using. Once I figured that out ,I’ve really come to enjoy using it I find it such a uplifting fragrance and the fact it can work in under 15 mins makes it a great morning mask for me. My skin looks bright and feels soft after use and also feels clean and not tight , which is sometimes a tricky balance to find.

REPURCHASE Yes I really like masking on a daily basis and this is a wonderful natural alternative to my typical sheet masks usage.

INGREDIENTS organic Hawaiian Raw Honey, organic Hawaiian Spirulina (Spirulina Maxima), pure organic Chlorella (Chlorella Vulgaris), French Green Clay, pure Sea Clay, Luminess Algae, organic Sea Buckthorn CO2 (Hippophae Rhamnoides), Vanilla CO2 (Vanilla Planifolia), Essential oils of: organic Orange (Citrus Aurantium Dulcis), Moroccan Chamomile (Tanacetum Annuum ), Roman Chamomile (Matricaria Chamomilla), Bee Balm (Monarda Fistulosa) , Geranium (Pelargonium Graveolens), Palmarosa (Cymbopogon Martini), Lavender (Lavandula Angustifolia), Ylang Ylang (Canaga Odorata), Rose (Rose Damascena), White Lotus Flower Absolute (Nelumbo Nucifera), Beeswax Absolute (Apies Millifera), Coriander Seed (Coriandrum Sativum); and LOVE (Aloha).

IMG_6377
Leahlani Skincare – Bohemian Ruby

PRODUCT Bohemian Ruby Balancing Toner

PRICE $47.50 AUD for 100ml

SKIN TYPE Sensitive/Dry

RECOMMENDED USE Shake bottle before each use, Use as often as you like.

A.M OR P.M Anytime, Anywhere

HOW IT SMELLS Geranium is what comes across the most to me.

HOW IT FEELS Light and comforting

HOW MUCH DO I USE I use 4 -5 sprays each time , the spray is very fine.

HOW OFTEN DO I USE Very Often !!!!

HOW DO I USE generally use after cleansing , pre masking and post masking. I also like to use after applying balms.

MY THOUGHTS I love mists !!!! Even though its one of the steps you can definitely do on a budget or forgo altogether it just makes me feel indulgent whether I’ve spent $10 or a hell of a lot more. This mist I really appreciate due to the inclusion of calendula which is one of my favourite ingredients for healing and soothing my skin. This mist is calming for the skin and the aroma is equally calming . Definitely a beautiful mist with lots of skin loving ingredients .

FACTS The inclusion of Aloe, Calendula, Blue Tansy and Rosehip are what really set this apart from many mists in this price range and many above and will make this a permanent part of my misting wardrobe.

REPURCHASE Yes !!!!

INGREDIENTS Water (aqua), Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Calendula officinalis (Flower) Extract, Saccharomyces/Sea Silt Ferment (Hawaiian), **Tanacetum annum (Blue Tansy) Essential Oil, *Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens (Geranuim) Oil, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) extract, *Rosa Sinensis (Hibiscus) Fruit Powder, *Vegetable Glycerin, Leuconostoc/Aloe barbadensis Leaf, Rosa Canina (Rosehip) Fruit Powder and LOVE (Aloha).

IMG_6378
Leahlani Skincare – Champagne Serum

PRODUCT Champagne Serum

PRICE $47.50 AUD for 30ml

SKIN TYPE All Skin Types (esp Dry or Sensitive)

RECOMMENDED USE Shake well before use apply a few drops at the serum stage of your routine also add to the Honey Lover 3-in-1 to boost antioxidant and anti inflammatory protection

A.M OR P.M Either

HOW IT SMELLS I find this to be the most fragrant oil I’ve used and sometimes find it quite overwhelming.

HOW IT FEELS Very light and easily absorbed , layers well with other products.

HOW MUCH DO I USE About 3-4 drops.

HOW OFTEN DO I USE So far I only used about twice a week.

HOW DO I USE Mainly by mixing with a hydrating serum and a balm mixed together in hands and massaged into damp skin. Also like applying to décolletage after sun exposure . Even though I use Spf daily I find it important to treat all exposed skin with the same care I do my face.

MY THOUGHTS I was very fortunate to be gifted this bottle by a friend for whom it didn’t work out, She has a more combination skin that is sensitive to essential oils. If you have a similar skin type I wouldn’t recommend . I never used this consistently enough to form a solid opinion as to whether this actually worked for me results wise. I look forward to being able to enjoy a more focused routine in the New Year.

FACTS It is chock full of beautiful antioxidant ingredients !!!!!!! All natural mainly tea based the inclusion of Rosehip and Calendula as always call to me as they do in any formulation. Also if these ingredients call to you , I believe its a excellent price point.

REPURCHASE Due to the Caroline Hirons & Cult Beauty box of dreams containing this I will be including this in my routines in the new year so I can truly measure its worth to me personally.

INGREDIENTS Organic cold pressed Grapeseed Oil (Vitis Vinifera), cold pressed Chardonnay Grapeseed Oil (Vitis Vinifera Chardonnay), organic cold pressed Rosehip Oil (Rosa Canina), organic cold pressed Jojoba Oil (Simmondsia Chinensis), essential oils of: organic Lavender (Lavandula Angustifolia), Chamomile (Matricaria Chamomilla), organic Orange (Citrus Nobilis), Rose Geranium (Pelargonium Graveolens), Leahlani antioxidant cocktail: (organic Green Tea (Camellia Sinensis), organic White Tea (Camellia Sinensis), organic Rooibos Tea (Aspalathus Linearis), organic Calendula (Calendula Officinalis), Vitamin E (Tocopheryl Acetate), organic Sunflower Oil (Helianthus Annuus) and LOVE (Aloha).

SUMMARY

Overall I find this a very interesting brand, If you are sensitive to essential oils then I would caution against it . However if you’re not then this is beautiful brand to investigate further.

The pricing is definitely mid range in the world of Green Beauty and the ingredients are extremely good and address many concerns that those of us hoping to age as gracefully as possible are drawn too. There is an excellent balance of antioxidant and anti-inflammatory ingredients in every product.

The scent of the Champagne Serum as I’ve written is extremely strong to me, yet not a deal breaker but definitely something to be aware of. I’m interested to try the Siren Serum and Meli Glow mask next as I’m really enjoying the masking sensations both in a sensory and results way.

Also feel its important to note that most “Serums” in the Green Beauty world are usually oils. As I saw Josh Rosebrook write once , its easier for people to understand that its equally as potent and should be used at that stage of a skincare routine when labelled as a serum than as an oil. Which made sense to me personally.

Again the above are my thoughts and how my skin reacted to the products, all skins and preferences are individual and fortunately this is not a world of one size fits all. All products featured except the Champagne Serum were purchased by me, I bought Honey Love from Cult Beauty and the Mermaid Mask and Bohemian Ruby Toner from I Am Natural Store.

Thank you for reading , I do hope you enjoyed and subscribed.

Genaya xxx

Comments

2 responses to “Leahlani Skincare (Hawaiian Magic)”

  1. Boriana Avatar
    Boriana

    Hi my beautiful! 😘❤ you know how much I love Leahlani’s face masks,honey love is maybe my all time favorite! But I agree, it’s a bit challenging to stir in the jar,well a lot! 😆 and I highly suggest you to try the Meli Glow, for me it’s the fusion between the mermaid and the honey love,it’s just lovely! Unfortunately the champagne serum didn’t work out for me,I think too many essential oils and my skin reacted.. But as you’ve said we are all different,that’s the beauty! Love you, Boriana

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Genaya Avatar

      Thank you so much for reading beautiful ♥️😘 Yes I think I will love Meli Glow as well, I have my eyes on it for next year ♥️,. Yes I think the champagne serum is very tricky!!! Love you too!!! ♥️😘

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.